How To Wear A Red Blazer

I’ve been wanting to buy a new blazer for work, but I can’t decide on the color. Black is easy to wear, and most of my clothes will surely match black, but I want something different. White is good, too, but I’m scared of stains (but I’m considering it). Maybe I just really want to try out a different style, but something’s telling me I should get a red blazer. Red can make you look sexy/sophisticated, but it’s also very tricky to wear — bright red can make you look weird if you don’t have fair skin (which is why I don’t have a lot of red clothes haha). It all depends on the shade of red, so that’s one thing I definitely need to figure out first. In the meantime, I’m just going to focus on how I’m going to mix and match. I guess that’s pretty easy if you’re used to wearing red– you probably have a lot of clothes that can match it– but since I don’t, I have to figure out how to do it. So, I decided to draw different ways to wear a red blazer.

20130519-005322.jpg

These are outfits I’d totally wear, and it’s good that they look good with the red blazer HAHA At first I thought a red blazer would be too loud and/or tacky (maybe just on me), but I realised it’s up to me to balance everything out. Maybe it’s time to get out of my comfort zone of neutral colors?

Despite being bold, a red blazer, surprisingly (for me), can still help one’s “girl-next-door” style (or ANY style, actually) which is good, for me, since I’m trying to shy away from clothes that would show off curves (for my everyday look. It still depends on the event, of course).

20130519-141020.jpg

Or maybe I drew all these just to convince myself that getting a red blazer is worth it. LOL.
It’s good that it can be as versatile as any black/white blazer, and what’s even better is that it can be the statement of your outfit (see girl drawing in white dress). I know my drawings only have a limited set of colors; I stuck with blue, black, and white to match red, but there are a hundred different ways to match red, and those colors are the ones that dominate my closet (I think).

Still, I think it’s safe to say that a red blazer can be worn in any way possible, provided that the you can balance everything out, but isn’t that what we, most of the time, take into consideration when we mix and match?

Leave a Reply

